More salvage…

Elizabeth Sullivan <esullivan>

Elizabeth Sullivan

Opinion directorNortheast Ohio Media Group

Tom Konecny

Toledo Free Press

tkonecny

419-823-1978

End Citizens United
1050 17th Street, NW Suite 590
Washington, DC 20036

http://endcitizensunited.org/

Rick Payerchin <rpayerchin> reporter at The Morning Journal in Lorain.

Should you be elected, what are three specific areas you’d like to change, address, improve or further research, and how specifically would you go about it?:

  • _For many of us in Northeast Ohio, we lost our Representatives in Congress to extremist partisan gerrymandering. 48% of Ohioans overall voted for Democratic candidates but, lo and behold, that 48% garnered only 25%, or four, Democratic Representatives to this Congress.

  • And among the casualties were Dennis Kucinich and Betty Sutton. Two of the “good” Democrats from Northern Ohio. To those who would say that the Democrats have done this kind of thing too I would say, yeah, probably so, but show me an historical example where a state with as many as 16 Congressional seats had as few as 25% of the seat total on 48% of the vote. I feel it quite personally that my own Democratic rights and franchise was severely degraded, and it makes me want to fight to regain what I lost.

  • Nationally, Democratic Congressional candidates actually won a narrow majority of the votes but the hard line gerrymandering of Republicans, along with copious and well targeted “Dark Money”, have given the U.S. House, through the efforts of an extremist minority, the obstructionist power to thwart almost everything that might be done on behalf of the interests of a vast majority of everyday American citizens.

  • How the above points could have happened is due to the overwhelming corrupting influence of money in our politics. This has been a problem and probably been debated since 1776. But the Supreme Court’s “Citizens United” decision of 2010 and this corollary “McCutcheon” decision have opened the floodgates of unlimited “dark money” flowing into our politics.

  • And as it’s flowed in, one thing that seems apparent is that 3/4 or so of this money favors the conservative big money and giant corporate “Holy Trinity” agenda of (1) Tax cuts that mysteriously go mostly to the wealthiest individuals and biggest corporations; (2) De-regulation of any profit maximizing activity; and (3) Privatization of any part of the Public Sector where easy profits can be extracted and gutting what’s left of the “Commons”.

  • The only hope I can see for anything to really change this drift to the Right that has accelerated it seems to a scarey point in the last 10-15 years is a true and broad “pro ‘Big D’ Democracy in America movement.” That’s my biggest reason for dong this write in candidacy, and I think engaging and committing personally on the level this requires will help focus my creative work in a productive and hopefully “useful to the cause and struggle” manner.

Whether for past accomplishments or future goals, why should voters elect you?

I’d like to respectfully say that Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur is the incumbent in this 9th Congressional District in Ohio, and I think it’s safe to say, she will be re-elected. And although I don’t know that much about her she seems to be a “good” Democrat and legitimately hard working public servant. And that seems to be both rare, and as Nicky Cage would say: “high praise”. So my own efforts are not meant as a knock at the good Congresswoman.

However, If my work to try to make a serious call for a broad “pro ‘Big D’ Democracy in America Movement” starts to make any noise or gain any traction (and it is to that end I am making this somewhat quixotic write in run) then perhaps in two years I will gather the required number of signatures to get on the General Election Ballot for the November, 2016 race for this same 9th Congressional District from Ohio Seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. Much more on that call for a pro ‘Big D’ Democracy in America Movement can be found on my blog https://reclaimingouramericandemocracy.wordpress.com/ which I will be updating frequently

All the best,
William Clarence Marshall
Chairman
Carl Stokes Brigade Candidates Screening Committee
216.939.4974

Dear William, I am sorry I missed the Candidates Screening session. The first I was aware of it was an email sent this morning at 2:01 AM and I just now opened it at 4:27 PM- to late to get there.
In any case, I am George Skalsky and I am registered to run as a Write In Candidate in Ohio’s 9th Congressional District- the seat now held by Marcy Kaptur of Toledo. If you are interested in seeing why I have gotten involved to the extent I have you can check out http://gskalsky.wordpress.com/which is my "Canditates WebSite" and https://reclaimingouramericandemocracy.wordpress.com/ which is a more general issue based blog in which I make a call to my fellow citizens to engage in a broad based pro Democracy in America movement which I feel is necessary if "We the people…" are ever going to be able to counteract the incredible corrupting influence that too much money in our politics has and continues to have. This has, obviously, been an issue in our politics for a long time, perhaps since our founding. But since the Citizens United and McCutcheon Supreme Court decisions it’s gotten to be like runaway freight train and I feel that if we don’t do something about it soon, later might turn out to be too late. "If not us, who? If not now… when?"
My own write in "Citizens Candidacy" is a means to enter the public dialog and, as a work in progress, attempt to describe what actions and course such a "pro Big ‘D’ Democracy in America" movement might need to gain some traction. If you look over my rudimentary start up efforts and are interested, contact me. I am looking for advice, input, and collaborative interaction.
Thanks, George
cleardot.gif

Posted in Random Miscellaney

Leave a Reply

